Following on from the previous post, Webinos at the Digital Agenda – Interoperability and standardization workshop , we (Nick and I – representing Webinos) also attended the Towards a cloud computing strategy for Europe: Matching supply and demand

This workshop had many good presentations but I am going to focus on one specific aspect from Mark SKILTON (Capgemini, Global Infrastructure Services, United Kingdom)

He presented the attached diagram about Cloud computing standards followed by details about the standards at various levels of the cloud stack.

The notes below and the diagram make fascinating reading and they show a problem that webinos grapples with ie standardization across the Web + Telecom stack. I don’t have any comments except to say that it is a complex task and it may be fulfilled partly through systems like webinos which try to unite the stack holistically but also we will see diversity through a mix of open standards, proprietary standards, open source and closed source



The WEF World economic forum has recently conducted a survey and number of publications on the topic of Cloud Computing among its many interests including Climate change and Economic growth.

Security guideline standards – CSA cloud Security Alliance are a significant standards body who have lead in the development of Identification, authentication, authorization, encryption and secure access to personal and corporate data and assets.

Encryption protocol standards – Data encryption – Advanced Encryption standard AES (NIST;  Transport layer encryption –  Virtual Private Network protocols VPN;  Message encryption – SSL

Identity and Authentication Standards :  OASIS – Liberty Alliance Standards Body token authentication SAML 2.0; OPENID foundation authentication  Single Sign-on.

Web service Standards : ISO/IEC 29362:2008 for Web services and  ISO  JTC 38 to reconcile Web services, SOA and cloud computing standards development to extend WS*I under DAPS – Distributed Applications and Platform Services Initiative.  World Wide Web Consortium W3C RDF, SPARQL, OWL, Semantic Web and Web architectures;

Legal Compliance standards : – Policy compliance for corporate enterprise environments and personal privacy

ISO 27000 series relating to Information Security Governance;  Government Legislative standards.

EU Directive 95/46/EC – Security, Data Transfer

EU Directive 2002/58/EC – Interception, Spam, cookies.

Federal law on Safe Habor.

PCI-DSS – payment cards.

Government- Patriot, Subpoenas

HIPPA –  Personal Data protection

Sarbane-Oxley – Data Audit

Browser standards–   these include open and closed (Proprietary) standards

Formats for web page Screen description and manipulation of webpage information : examples include HTML (5) (W3C,  CSS DOM, ECMAScript.    Feeds and Scripts, ajax, rss atom;  Adobe  Flash

Platform OS: Microsoft, Unix, Linux, Apple, Chrome, ,Net, Java, OpenVMS (HP)..

Mobile Platform OS: Android, Windows Mobile, AppleOS, HP WebOS..

Open Source Standards: OpenVMS, Apache LibCloud, Linux and many others, OSI Open Source Initiative.   Open Compute initiative (Facebook) and many others

Grid Computing and cloud projects, Globus Project OGSA Open Grid Services Architecture , OGF, Nebula  Cloud  (NASA) , eScience Open Science Data Cloud , Reservoir fp7 project ,  OpenStack ,  and many others

API standards – for access to Cloud resources can be split into open and closed(Proprietary)  APIs.

OCCI  Open Cloud Computing Interface – from  OGF  OpenGridForum

CDMI- Cloud Data Management Interface from – from SNIA  Storage Network Industry Association

Open Cloud API –  Python, Java – Apache Libcloud development Libcloud

Google APIs- examples , Google Code

Amazon APIs  – examples ,  Amazon WS documentation APIs , developer documentation

and many others..

Code development standards –  Java, windows ,  .NET, Ruby, Python, PHP, C++..

Chip set standards:  IBM, Intel, ARM, HP..

Container standards – these are open and closed (Proprietary) standards. And include :

OVF  Open Virtualization Format  – from DMTF Distributed Management Task Force relating to VMware VMIs.

Amazon AMIs  and many others

Service Management certification standards –  ITIL v3, ITSM is standards for Service Management (for ITC regulation).  CMMI and ISO 20000 certifications for IT Service management maturity and quality standards (ISO 9000 for non ITC)

Architectural standards –  The Open Group TOGAF model for Enterprise Architecture with recognized International certification. The group also has Cloud Computing , SOA, Security and Semantic Interoperability reference models.  NIST National Institute of Standards and Technology Cloud Initiative ,  Other Use Case developments  are seen in OASIS, OMG, ODCA and many others